DPCCC Endorses Supervisor Federal Glover, Narrows Field on District 3

PLEASANT HILL, CA, MARCH 22, 2016 … Following weeks of deliberation, the Democratic Party of Contra Costa County (DPCCC) today announced its final endorsement decisions for the June 7, 2016 county elections.

County Supervisor Federal Glover, of Supervisorial District 5, earned the party’s coveted endorsement with support from 64 percent of elected and appointed Central Committee members. Martinez City Councilmember AnaMarie Avila Farias also demonstrated a significant showing. None of the other four announced candidates earned any support from members of the decisionmaking body.

“County Supervisor Federal Glover has served Contra Costa well for over 15 years, and we’re honored to stand by him once again,” said Party Chair Jeff Koertzen. “Nevertheless, we are gratified that multiple Democrats participated in our party’s endorsement process, demonstrating the strength of our bench.”

The Central Committee could not reach consensus on an endorsement in Supervisorial District 3, remaining divided between the two leading Democratic candidates, Antioch City Council Member Monica Wilson and East Bay Regional Park District Board Member Diane Burgis. None of the four additional candidates earned any support from members of the committee.

“Both Council Member Wilson and Board Member Burgis have fought strongly for Democratic values,” said Koertzen. “Monica previously served as Vice-Chair of this party and has spent years fighting successfully for Antioch residents, while Diane has shown to be a time-tested defender of the environment. We encourage District 3 residents to consider them both this June.”

The Central Committee will re-evaluate whether to endorse a candidate in District 3 following the June 7, 2016 statewide primary election and may come to an endorsement decision soon after election results are certified.

Roosevelt Awards Recipients Announced

The Democratic Party of Contra Costa County also announced today the preliminary roll of honorees for its Third Annual Roosevelt Awards Dinner. At the April 23rd, 2016 event, Democrats will honor the following local leaders:

  • State Assemblymember Susan Bonilla

  • Former State Assemblymember Joan Buchanan

  • State Senator Loni Hancock

  • State Senator Lois Wolk

  • California Democratic Party Controller Hilary Crosby, Volunteer of the Year

  • Betty Reid Soskin, Distinguished Democrat of the Year

Tickets are currently available at www.contracostadems.org/RAD2016.



Learn more about the Democratic Party of Contra Costa County at www.contracostadems.org.